Chai Chat with a flexischooling family who will soon be Home Educating

 When and why did you decide to Home Educate?
I am not homeschooling my boys fully at the moment. My older boy attends a public school (Primary 2) while my younger boy attends a 3-hour programme in the mornings. Instead, I supplement their learning in the afternoons.

What kind of approach do you take? 
I refer to the curriculum/syllabi provided by the Ministry of Education as a guideline before planning my lessons and activities. I also follow many homeschooling mummies and refer to Pinterest a lot for ideas! 

What is your favourite thing about Home Education?
I like coming up with fun activities to help my boys grasp the harder concepts. 

What subjects do you teach and do you stick to a timetable?
Since the boys attend secular schools, I try to work on Islamic Studies, Quran reading and Arabic language at home with them. Being an ex school teacher, I also teach them English and Mathematics at home. 
What do you find most difficult and why?
The challenge is to teach Arabic! I rely a lot on books and Google translate to help me because I do not speak the language. 

How do you react to people asking about socialisation, do your children easily socialise and work well with others?
N.A. since they attend school in the mornings. 

Have family supported your decision?
My husband is fully supportive of my decision to be home for the boys. 

How do you incorporate Physical Education into your Home Ed days?
The boys swim daily after their lessons at home.  Sometimes, we head to the playground. 

Do you plan and how  far in advance?
I usually plan weekly on Sunday nights. Nothing too detailed. Just short notes in my daily planner and I modify whenever necessary. 

What's a typical Home Ed day like?
The boys are usually settled at home by 2.30pm since they attend school in the morning. We will do short lessons from 3pm till about 5pm. Then, they will go swimming. 

Do you spend a lot of money on resources?
I usually buy my resources during sales or online. I have been collecting resources for my boys since 2010 when my older one was born. I also make some of the resources. In fact, I still keep the stuff I made from my teaching days. 

How do you make time for yourself?
I am usually free in the morning so I use the time to run errands, catch up on my sleep and to watch Netflix! 

What advice would you give to someone just starting their Home Ed journey?
Since I am not fully homeschooling, I try to keep my lessons fun so that my boys will look forward to spending their afternoons learning with me. I also try to be as flexible as I can and switch materials whenever they get bored. 
 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Chai chat with.......Gemma from Our Muslim Homeschool

Home Education Guide & Our Privacy Policy

Arabic games in our Home Ed classroom